Approval, Regulatory and Compliance Issues

@pryderi and all:
here is a google doc containing the Standard Operating Procedure, drafted by Pryderi. Anyone can make comments and suggestions. I’ll add version control through the History Function in Google Docs next… I’d suggest a Dr and Pryderi only have permissions needed to approve changes, and perhaps a Heath and Safety expert… Thoughts?

1 Like

@pryderi @swiftarf Update on Approval Process: a colleague in London is sending me a form that can be signed by a consultant to allow the use of anything the consultant is willing to sign off. Are you a consultant @swiftarf? If not, I’m in contact with Chris Subbe. I just texted him…

@andygoodman yes, I am a consultant. My department clinical director is quite happy to use our face shields in any case.

2 Likes

Great. This is the form.

A colleague who is experienced in designing injection mouldable parts has a design that could be used to produce large quantities, quickly. He’d probably do modifications to meet our needs, locally; if we have specific needs.

Once the design is frozen, the cost: £2-5k for the tooling, then the production can be managed by someone with a press. @Wyn do you know a company on the island with a press? If not, there are other options. I guess, there will be need to continue with 3D printing for 14 days then, if needed we could move to mass manufacture.

Thoughts?

Thanks for the link, but a visor is not a medical device.

From a regulatory perspective, they are, I believe. I worked on invasive device development and seem to recall even plasters fall under a similar classification.

“Face masks (surgical, medical, etc.) that incorporate a face shield or visor into their design are considered Class II medical devices and required to submit an FDA Form 510(K).”

I’ll look for a better reference, but I’m certain they are. I can ‘ask the expert’ tomorrow.

The MHRA is clear on it: