Late 20's - software development

Hello all,

I’m Steve and new to North Wales Tech.

I’ve been working in outdoor education for the past 10 years and there’s only so long that I can run around the hills with teenagers before my body can’t keep up anymore. I was once enrolled on a Computer Science Degree but ended up leaving and haven’t looked at a computer very much since :sweat_smile:

I’m here to meet people and understand how to get into Software Development.

I’ve been looking into the job market, mostly through Google, and I’m wondering if there’s enough work in the local area. I’m currently based in the Porthmadog area. Could any current developers shed some light on this for me? I thought that this would be the best place to start before I start taking it seriously and begin teaching myself.

Thanks for any help,

Steve

Hi Steve, I’m Simon and I’m rather at the other end of the scale to you, i.e. middle aged and been in software development for nearly 20 years. However we only moved to the area 2 years ago (from Wrexham) so I’m still figuring out the opportunities for developers in this area. In my experience it seems that there are very limited opportunities in Gwynedd but those that do exist seem to be around Bangor; the average salary seems to be lower than elsewhere and I think embedded programming seems to be the most sort after skill. However I have managed to secure a 12 month C# .net contract so it’s not impossible to find something. For the future though I’m targeting remote opportunities and the majority of these appear to be requiring cloud computing experience so I’m learning more about Azure (as I’m a Microsoft centric developer) but AWS would be good to know too. Hope my experience (so far) can be of some use to you, happy to help if I can, I’ve been there myself.

1 Like